Relay for Life 2016

“Cancer doesn’t sleep and tonight, neither will we.”

On Friday, I participated in Relay for Life for the first time. For those of you who don’t know, it is a twelve hour walk that happens at college campuses all over in which all money raised goes to the American Cancer Society. I was on the planning committee for it at Stonehill this year. I am so happy I participated in this amazing event. It was so amazing to see so many people come together to help in the fight against cancer. Cancer has affected everyone in some way; everyone fought for something or someone. When people ask why I relay, I relay in memory of my grandmother who I lost six years ago today, to brain cancer. I also relay for those I know who are currently battling and to help in finding a cure for such a terrible disease. It was a very emotional night, but it was so beautiful. It reminded me of how much support I have from my friends, and how no one is alone in their battle.

My religion professor, Professor John Lanci was the opening speaker this year. He battled cancer, and has been cancer free for two years. One thing he said in his speech in particular stood out to me. He said, “‘You’re cured is something that cancer patients rarely hear people say.'” It was so eye-opening and a true reminder of why everyone is in this fight against cancer. We want people to hear “You’re cured” more often.

I am so happy to have been apart of this event, truly helping in making a difference. Stonehill College raised over $52,000 for the American Cancer Society, with my team raising over $7,000. I can’t wait to do it again next year.

Leave a Reply

