Thank you to the Dance Floor

Dear Dance Floor,

Blood. Blisters. Bruises.

You’re probably wondering why I am thanking you for that. Why I am thankful for the blood, sweat, tears, and pain that I experience as a dancer. There’s not much that I love more.

The dance floor has been my escape for a long time: an escape from stress, school, and everything and anything in between. No matter how sharp or perfected the choreography may be, just getting on the dance floor to express my feelings in a language I love is something I am eternally thankful for. Dance is an unexplainable form of self-expression. Dance makes me feel something, truly feel something. It helps me to stop bottling up my feelings and make myself face what I have been ignoring. I lose myself in the music and the dance moves and sometimes it’s hard to come back and face reality. You as a dance floor allow me to do this.

It’s not always the dance moves, sometimes it’s the workouts. The long core and ab workouts that make me want to give up because I’m in so much pain and sweating to no end. I get so sick of staring at the scratched wood floor while I hold that plank for a minute, or when I hate the floor because I can’t let my feet touch it when I scissor my legs. Despite this pain and frustration, I push through. Feel it. I love the soreness the next day. I know I worked hard.

Every dancer most likely has experienced their share of drama in their studios, but it’s hard to escape from. As annoying and silly as it all was, you helped us to come together and make something beautiful despite our differences. Everyone can work together on the floor. You are the glue that holds dancers together. You help to make the team.

You as a dance floor allow every dancer to take their everything they are feeling is taken on out you. You deal with scrapes, nicks, and pounding feet along with many other things. You allow someone to express themselves in a way that other people can’t. You make the world of a difference in the life of a dancer.

I look forward to smashing the floor and perfecting my pirouettes on you in the future. I might throw in a few new scratch marks or nicks with my tap shoes, too.

All my love,

Dancer

Leave a Reply

