Living Life in Fast Forward

One of my favorite movies is Stuck in Love, which my favorite quote comes from. Samantha Borgens, played by Lilly Collins, says:

“I never enjoy anything. I’m always waiting for whatever’s next. I think everyone’s like that. Living life in fast forward. Never stopping to enjoy the moment. Too busy trying to rush through everything so we can get on with what we are really supposed to be doing with our lives. I get these flashes of clarity, brilliant clarity where for a second I stop and I think ‘Wait, this is it, this is my life. I better slow down and enjoy it’ because one day we’re all going to end up in the ground and that’ll be it, we’ll be gone’”.

Until watching this movie for the first time, I never thought about how I do not live in the moment. We anxiously await whatever is next, not making the most of the current moment we are living in: whether it’s an hour, a minute, or even a second. Make something of it that you’ll be happy you did. It feels as though we wish our lives away, spending too much time anxiously awaiting something that might not even be worth the build up. There will always be something to focus on in your future: college graduation, marriage, having children, or something as simple as a birthday or planned vacation. Don’t forget about your present. Focus on the now, because before you know it, it’ll be your past, and you cannot go back and relive the moment or make it better.

Leave a Reply

